Out of office – at work. A spatial trilogy

Installation | Mixed Media | 2018


A collaboration with Olivia Hegetschweilerdeveloped in the context of the ARTsakh Fest 2018. The site-specific installation is located in three rooms situated next to each other on the first floor of the former theatre of Stepanakert (Artsakh).

In detail:

«Out of office – at work. A spatial trilogy» was developed in the context of the ARTsakh Fest 2018. The site-specific installation is located in three rooms situated next to each other on the first floor of the former theatre of Stepanakert (Artsakh). For the realisation of this work, objects and materials found in the theatre, have been used. On wanderings through the city the artists bought diverse further everyday objects, which they assimilated.

One of the doors is locked. Once the visitors climb the ladder, they get an insight through the upper window. They can see a table with a computer, printer and accessories. The setting gives the impression to be an abandoned workplace. The visitors experience a piece of preserved time in space. Time seems to stand still.

By passing a doormat, the room in the middle will be entered. This room shows traces and the result of a cleaning action of the artists, which lasted several hours. The cleaning is becoming part of the artistic work and an important aspect of the process. In the cleaned room the used working tools and materials are installed on the wall. The cleaned window pane invite the visitors to look through the window outside and to observe. A present view on the local reality. Artificial room fragrance emphasizes the situation.

Out of the darkened room there is an undefined radio sound to hear. Though it is a not correct tuned in radiostation. The visitors can sit on a stool. Into the original stage model of the theatre an image is projected. The projection shows the globe, though on the first sight it is not recognizable as such. This setting invites to reflect, reconsider and to have visions.

Out of office – at work. A spatial trilogy

Installation | Mixed Media | 2018


Eine Zusammenarbeit mit Olivia Hegetschweiler, entstanden im Rahmen des ARTsakh Fest 2018. Die ortsspezifische Installation befindet sich in drei nebeneinander gelegenen kleinen Räumen im 1. Stock des ehemaligen Theaters von Stepanakert (Artsakh)

Im Detail:

«Out of office – at work. A spatial trilogy» ist im Rahmen des ARTsakh Fest 2018 entstanden. Die ortsspezifische Installation befindet sich in drei nebeneinander gelegenen kleinen Räumen im 1. Stock des ehemaligen Theaters von Stepanakert (Artsakh) Für die Umsetzung dieser Arbeit wurden im Theater vorgefundene Objekte und Materialien verwendet. Auf Streifzügen durch die Stadt erstanden die Kunstschaffenden zudem diverse Alltagsgegenstände, die sie verarbeiteten.

Eine der Türen ist abgeschlossen. Besteigen die Besuchenden die Leiter, so erhalten sie einen Einblick durch das Oberfenster der Türe. Zu sehen ist ein Tisch mit Computer, Drucker und Zubehör. Das Setting macht den Anschein, eine verlassene Arbeitssituation zu sein. Die Besuchenden erfahren ein Stück konservierte Zeit im Raum. Die Zeit scheint still zu stehen.

Der mittlere Raum wird über eine Fussmatte betreten. Dieser Raum zeigt die Spuren und das Ergebnis einer mehrstündigen Putzarbeit der Kunstschaffenden. Das Putzen wird Teil des künstlerischen Schaffens und wichtiger Aspekt des Prozesses. Im gereinigten Raum sind die benutzen Arbeitswerkzeuge- und Materialien an der Wand installiert. Die geputzten Fensterscheiben laden die Besuchenden ein, durch das Fenster nach draussen zu schauen und zu beobachten: der Hinterhof, das Nachbarhaus, dessen Dach gerade repariert wird und darüber hinaus ein Ausblick in die Weite auf die Umgebung von Stepanakert. Ein gegenwärtiger Blick auf die hiesige Realität. Künstlicher Raumduft unterstreicht die Situation.

Aus dem verdunkelten Raum sind undefinierte Radiolaute zu hören. Dabei handelt es sich um einen unsauber eingestellten Radiosender. Die Besuchenden können sich auf den Hocker setzen. In das originale Bühnenmodell des Theaters wird ein Bild projiziert. Die Projektion zeigt die Erdkugel, welche jedoch nicht auf den ersten Blick als solche erkennbar ist. Dieses Setting lädt zum Nachdenken, in sich Gehen und Visionen Spinnen ein.